Skip to content Skip to navigation
Resources and Information on COVID-19 Ask a Question


The Legislative Branch of ASUCM is made up of 16 senators, 10 at large and two from each of the three schools. The Senate is chaired by the Internal vice president (IVP).

The Senate has the power to:

  • Constitute tribunals inferior to the Court;
  • Make rules for the student government and regulations of the established budget;
  • Approve requests of the Associated Students from the Administration;
  • Promote the progress of inspirational endeavors useful in education for the general welfare of the ASUCM; and
  • Enact impeachment proceedings against officers of the legislative and executive bodies of the ASUCM.

Officers of the Senate:

  • President pro tempore: presiding officer of the Senate in the absence of the Internal vice president;
  • Sergeant at arms: officer charged with the general safety during Senate meetings;
  • Secretary: officer charged with the duty of maintaining records of the Senate; and
  • Any other Senate officers as deemed necessary by 2/3 majority vote of members present for fair and efficient proceedings.

The following standing committees shall be established annually in the Senate:

  • Budget and Finance
    Chair: Payton Fong
    Location: KL 119
    Time: Tuesday, 7:00 to 8:00 PM
  • Academic Affairs
    Chair: Nathalie Yol-Aldana
    Location: Granite Pass 162
    Time: Monday, 6:00 to 7:00 PM
  • Student Activities
    Chair: Elizabeth Meza Torres
    Location: Granite Pass 170
    Time: Tuesday, 6:00 to 7:00 PM
  • Student Advocacy
    Chair: Erynn Ramos
    Location: Granite Pass 173
    Time: Tuesday, 5:00 to 6:00 PM

Here are the Senate Leadership Positions for Fall 2019:

Senator Pro Tempore: Lidia Gonzalez

Sergeant-at-Arms: Samuel Luna

Secretary: Evelin Avila

Court Liaison: Elizabeth Meza Torres

ICC Liaison: Citlalli Gamino

CAB Liaison: Elizabeth Gallegos

ASUCM Commission of Sustainability Senate Liaison: Payton Fong